Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Chris Yeh Quartet Live at The Dragon Upstairs (3-8-2013)

Even the Dragon enjoys Jazz!   'The Dragon Upstairs' in Chinatown that is.  It's been awhile since we last visited this venue.  A must to see!   A mysterious arrival at the top of the stairs.  Surprise!  Muted lighting with vibrant red, black and gold tones, giant face masks, and ornate dragons and mirrors everywhere. 
We like!

On this cozy Friday night in Chinatown, the CHRIS YEH QUARTET on stage belting familiar jazz tunes.  What a treat for our pau-hana week!  We enjoyed 'Cantaloupe Island'!   You can groove with these guys every Friday night between 7 and 10 pm.  Check out the captured golden moment below.  Mahalo Guys!  and Don't Stop The Music!


Unable to view the slide show....click on this LINK. You will also be able to "Like" or "Share" your favorite pictures to Facebook.

The Chris Yeh Quartet:
Chris Yeh - sax, band leader
Bailey Matsuda - piano
Louis Benito - bass
Chuck James - drums


Saturday, March 2, 2013

Magic Mushroom Reunion Party II at the Manoa Grand Ballroom (2/15/2013)

After the first Magic Mushroom Party in July 2012, Dennis said "this will be the first and last one." I told him, "never say never." Well, my intuitions were right. Here's the Hana Hou in February 2013 with a crowd just a big as the first one.

ED KANOI of 107.9 Kool Gold kicked off the 2nd Magic Mushroom Reunion Party with a bang! First to hit the stage in sizzling red and black colors, ELECTRIC FISH & THE TOFU FACTORY (aka King Pins) playing "Born On The Bayou". The dance floor immediately filled after the audience filled their tummies at the pupu buffet. Even the Wahiawa Wahine Line dancers had a private dance area near the stage while dancing to "Disco Inferno".

AUDISSEY & FRIENDS was next on stage sporting a new 4-piece horn section, and extraordinaire drummer Alvin Fejarang (former Kapalana).  Special guest appearances by former 'Natural High' vocalists Rob Yamamoto singing "Summer Sun", and Ken Uyeno singing "Soul Man".

WHITE LIGHT commanded the stage with all their signature songs from their days performing in Spencecliff Hawaii Restaurants. Tammie Kotani won a White Light T-shirt for being the first to name those restaurants. Dean Guzman also won a T-shirt for sharing his maki-sushi with Joy Waikoloa. The dance floor overflowed during the "Electric Slide". The evening ended with a hana hou of "We Are Family!" How fitting for this audience of baby boomers and music lovers of the 70s!

Slideshow ! ......

Unable to view the slide show....click on this LINK.  You will also be able to "Like" or "Share" your favorite pictures to Facebook.

It was good to see many friends and family enjoying themselves. Mahalo & Kudos to Dennis and Joy Matsukawa for putting together another successful Magic Mushroom Reunion Party.  Hey Dennis! Perhaps a #3? Special Mahalo to all the bands for bringing us back to a special moment in time! Don't Stop The Music!

Electric Fish & The Tofu Factory (aka The King Pins):

Harvey Yamauchi - lead guitar, vocals, band leader
Randal Rosenberg - bass guitar, vocals
Lance Tianer - guitar, background vocals
Harvey Yoshioka - key boards, background vocals
Brad Choi - drums

Band contact & Bio: http://www.kingpinshawaii.com/

Audissey & Friends:

Dennis Matsukawa - lead guitar, vocals, band leader
Alvin Ferjarang - drums
Brad Nakanishi - key boards, vocals
Paul Yokota - guitar, vocals
Galen Onouye - bass guitar
Isaac Nishimura - saxaphone
Chris Ostuka - saxaphone
Gen Miyashiro - trumpet
Kalyn Miyasato - trombone
Rob Yamamoto - vocals (special guest)
Ken Uyeno - vocals (special guest)

Band contact: audissey004@yahoo.com

White Light:

Joy Waikoloa - vocals
Don Tsuha - trumpet
Sherman Kang - saxaphone
Clarence Lau - trombone
Gerald Tomosawa - trumpet and drums
Layne Maeoka - drums
Arex Ikehara - bass guitar
Daniel Kurose - guitar
George Mosier - guitar
Larry Isobe - keyboards
Howard Nakata - vocals
Tommy Kamisato - trumpet

Band contact: joywaikoloa@facebook.com

Band Bio: http://www.70snightclubreunion.com/info/bios/white_light.html